Dylan Khotin-Foote | HAPPY TRENDY

Edmonton,  Canada

I started HAPPY TRENDY in the winter of 2010 as an outlet to expressing myself in a form more personal than what I was creating at that time.
It’s easy to fall into the trap of focusing on everything and everyone but yourself, and I guess this was my idea of circumventing that.
It was really just an experiment, and it still is. I never have a clear thought in my head of where I want this project to go and what I want the music to sound like, and if I do, I usually change my mind within a couple of days. Touring Europe in December with Foxes in Fiction has really opened my mind. Traveling in general is one of the most important things to do in my opinion, especially if you are searching for happiness in your life. Edmonton is my home, where the cold and dreary winters lead me into a cozy, creative, isolation. My process of creating music is really spontaneous, so I can’t be sure when new music will ring in at this point. I don’t like to rush things. I have plans of spending this summer in the American southwest with a select few people I love and I hope to play some shows up the coast.

Music tastes are a deal breaker when it comes to girls. Mega bonus if they play synthesizers and have a fairly impressive record collection. My girlfriend is perfect and listens to great things.


Work:

HAPPY TRENDY – January 6

DKF: Micah Van Hove created this beautiful video for one of the newer songs, “January 6”.

MP3: HAPPY TRENDY – Losing It


Current Obsession:

Trouble Books
Luxembourg. 2010

Trouble Books- Ascending Kidney
DKF: Anything Keith Freund related is great. His solo record, “Constant Comments” is easily one of my favourites of 2011. This kind of music just sounds better in the winter.
[Trouble Books]


The Playlist

HAPPY TRENDY

 Enjoyed listening to HT’s Die Young EP and the experimental/spontaneous recordings of Dylan beneath this blurb. Happy-sad synth pop that makes you pine for the past and the future simultaneously. Follow their upcoming via the attached links.

.

Witch Gardens

Seattle. 2011
[Witch Gardens]


Phone Home

New York. 2012

MP3: Phone Home – My Bed, Your Bed [Phone Home]


Soft Lighting

Kansas City. 2012
MP3: Soft Lighting – Far Away [Soft Lighting]


The Craters

Boston. 2012

MP3: The Craters – In It For You [The Craters]


The You Are Minez

Calgary. 2012
[The You Are Minez]


Lorena Álvarez y su Banda Municipal

Spain. 2012
[Lorena Álvarez y su Banda Municipal]
[via]

Leave a comment