Alanna Nuala

Moon

Brooklyn

Alanna Nuala

During my time as a solo artist I’ve released 2 albums, one being a compilation of songs I had written between the ages of 16 to 18. My second album was written, recorded, and arranged more recently, making it a more accurate representation my abilities as a musician. It also carries a whole new vibe, seeing as half of the album was written during the time I was living in San Francisco, and the other half when I moved home (I am originally, and authentically, a New Yorker). I feel the collection of new experiences in a foreign environment helped me mature, which in turn gave me the courage to be more honest in my song writing, and ignore the desire to satisfy others. I contacted and worked with Phil Elverum (The Microphones, Mount Eerie) to come up with a cover for my album. He picked two photos he had taken that he believed would work best, and I chose from those two. He has always been a major influence to me, so collaborating with him was surreal and invigorating.

Since releasing the album I’ve allowed myself to relax. I’ve been recruiting a back up band to start rehearsing with, in hopes of soon playing show to promote The Light further. Also – without an unreleased record breathing down my neck – I’ve been able to focus more on my job, which my boss couldn’t be more happy about. The Light is tentatively set to be released on vinyl through Death By Audio records. Before it was made public the founder of the company Oliver Ackermann approached me suggesting we do a 12″ release through DBA. I was thrilled, but thanks to lack of confidence decided to post-pone the idea and wait to see how the album was received. I think we might go ahead and press a few.

I’ve been on-and-off working on an EP, which I’m beginning to think will be my next conquest. Other than all that, I’m just thankful to everyone that has responded positively to my new songs. Given what’s popular in music right now, I wasn’t sure what kind of feedback I’d hear. It was intimidating and disabling. Then I thought, fuck it, and let go. So again, thank you to anyone and everyone out there who is listening. Thanks.

cvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvdddddddddddddd SDDDDA————–[[[[[hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhgggggggrfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff Qzz“111111d2222222222222222222222222` 2222222222222222222221“““` – my kitten Banjo just typed that while walking across the computer


Work:

Moon- Braids & Bones 
MP3: Moon – Braids & Bones

The music in Braids & Bones was inspired by the ceremonial drum roll performed when a criminal is sentenced to death by firing squad. the footage is meant to reinforce the feeling of hopelessness and impending doom.


Zeitgeist:

Acid trip 

Basically.


Current Obsession:

Spiritualized – Let It Flow 

I cried the first time I heard this song. it was embarrassing.


Recommended Gig:

Portishead, Jeff Mangum Headlining ATP 2011 in New JerseyJeff Mangum is a genius.



The Scene

Moon

The Light album by Moon isn’t semi  neo-new-wave sounding, nor DIY lo-fi nor witch house, hmmm, I’m baffled, what is it then?! Moon’s music struck me as being “un-trendy”, which can be either good or bad, depending on where you at and who’s your friends, I’m only half kidding… Listening to Moon’s electro-affected dream-folk, was pleasant, the vocals were sincere and intimate, and it all felt like it’s been done by an authentic artist, so  hail, Alanna! Listen/download/ follow Moon right here.

MP3: Moon – Little Child MP3: Moon – Never Coming Back

Eskimeaux
MP3: Eskimeaux – Trinkets [Eskimeaux]


Boyz & Girl- Cannot Touch
[Boyz & Girl]


Tearjerker
MP3: Tearjerker – Polar Bear Remix [Tearjerker]


Kemialliset Ystävät
MP3: Kemialliset Ystävät- Maksaruohoja [Kemialliset Ystävät]


Yow
MP3: Yow- Neighborhood Dadz (Juandee REMIX 2000)


Silk Flowers- In Your Memory
[Silk Flowers]


Lois Magic
MP3: Lois Magic- Mooncreatures [Lois Magic]
2 thoughts on “Alanna Nuala

  1. Pingback: המחוג הקטן 016 | .מס שפתיים.

Leave a Reply

